Flash Frenzy Free For All

Posted: June 10, 2017 in Flash Frenzy Free For All
Tags: , ,

 

This weekend’s Free For All photo was chosen to commemorate World Doll Day. From daysoftheyear.com: “World Doll Day was established on June 14, 1986 by a lovely lady named Mildred Seeley, to celebrate not only dolls, but caring, nurturing love and the people offering it, in general… The day is traditionally celebrated by giving a doll to someone, anyone, child or adult…”

This weekend I’d like you to give us your best stories about dolls, stuffed animals, and the people who give and receive them.

18556256_1180067352120100_2448063234311354993_n

photo courtesy Ashwin Rao

 

Comments
  1. Angelique Pacheco says:

    Word count: 233

    Wilbur

    When I was three years old, a lady gave me Wilbur. He was a small bean bag doll with a large nose and his front said “I can be very friendly.” I didn’t speak a word of English yet but Wilbur spoke the language of love and crept into my heart that Christmas. I had just lost my dad and Wilbur became my best friend.

    Other children had imaginary friends and I had Wilbur. He was my security blanket. We were always together. I would give him water to drink and he didn’t mind getting wet. He didn’t complain when I accidentally pulled his nose off and had to stitch it back on myself. He didn’t yell when I cut him open to see what he was made of. He was remarkably understanding about things in general.

    Wilbur knows all my secrets. Every single one of them. From my teen angst and my bad relationships to my depression. He has been with me through it all. Wilbur has also traveled with me everywhere I’ve been. Africa, South America, London, Thailand, Japan and Australia. I don’t go somewhere new on holiday without Wilbur.

    He is thirty-five years old now and I am thirty-eight. He will always be my first friend and a part of my family. The only thing I will spare him is another bath. I don’t think he will survive another one.

  2. ewansmithxxx says:

    @ewanandsmith
    360 words

    Freedom

    Tizz placed Parsley-Leaf, Growler and Ay-Em on the bed and looked at them with a concerned expression. “Guys, I need to talk to you seriously for a moment. I know you’re not really into politics but this is important.”
    She picked up Growler with a frown. Stretching over to her bedside cabinet, she picked out some ruffled ribbon and tied back the orange hair falling across his eyes. “How do you like that, Growler?” she smiled, squeezing him gently. A whisper of a growl came from his stomach as she placed him back on the bed.
    “On Thursday there was an election and the Prime Minister blew it bigtime. But she’s refusing to leave and has allied herself to just the vilest group of bigots.” Tizz picked up Ay-Em, her eyes moving thoughtfully over the doll’s naked figure. “So today we’re going on a Freedom Protest. We’re going to call for her to sod off and let Jezza form a new government.” Her lips pursed for a moment and then she nodded to herself. “Crop-top and torn jeans for you, Ay-Em. Espadrilles, pixie-cut and chunky bracelets.”
    She quickly gathered the necessary but then stopped, her eyes flicking towards Parsley-Leaf. Her lip twisted. “Now that I think about it, you’re not up to this. To be honest, you’d be an embarrassment on a Freedom Protest.” She flicked the soft toy off the bed with her foot and turned back to Ay-Em. She dressed the doll with quick concentration. “Now what about make-up?” she murmured. Her eyes narrowed. “Skinnydip glitter lips, I think.” Applying the lipstick required care but Tizz was happy with the result. She looked at the doll and a flicker of a smile crossed her lips. She pulled down the torn jeans and pressed a tiny squirt of Lolita Lempicka between the doll’s legs. “You never know, Ay-Em,” she whispered into the doll’s ear. “You might just get lucky.” She bounced off the bed, tossing the two toys into her shoulder bag. “Now let’s get ourselves some freedom!”
    In the bag, pressed tight against the lion, Action Man gazed blindly into the darkness. Would he ever be free again?

  3. Angelique Pacheco says:

    I love it! So unusual 🙂

Leave a Reply

