Flash Frenzy Free For All

Posted: May 6, 2017 in Flash Frenzy Free For All
Tags: , ,

Hello all! Welcome back. Things are still a little crazy (example: I still need to make arrangements for judging in the upcoming weeks).  Nevertheless, I didn’t want to leave you all hanging, so for the next week or two, I will post photo prompts, but there will be no official judging. As always, feel free to comment, or arrange some friendly side competitions. Please accept my apologies for not being quite back to full speed just yet.

Without further ado, here is this week’s free for all prompt.

11224564_10150561401289984_1917910113957317364_n

photo courtesy Ashwin Rao

Comments
  1. ewansmithxxx says:

    @ewanandsmith
    357 words

    The Online Date

    “But you don’t look anything like your photo.”
    “It was from my university days. I didn’t have a more recent one.”
    “You went to university?”
    Dermot looked down at his sandaled feet. With hindsight, the fun socks hadn’t been a good idea. “I applied to go,” he muttered.
    Celia made a dismissive sound which stung him into a response. “Well what about you? 28 years old?” He snorted. “And the rest…”
    “Oh come on. Everyone knocks a few years off their age on the forms. It’s expected.” Dermot had to admit the truth of that. His early 30s train had long since left the station.
    Celia gave an irritable sigh. “You didn’t even dress up for the date. A T-shirt, for god’s sake.”
    Depression settled over Dermot. She was right, of course. “It’s not easy, finding decent clothes when you’re my size. A T-shirt seemed simplest.”
    He realised that he was feeling humiliated. Yet again. At times, that seemed his default state.
    Celia lowered herself onto the concrete block beside him. “So was anything you put on the form true? Do you work in the theatre?”
    His sense of humiliation deepened. “I’m a hospital porter.” Twelve years in a job that was going nowhere. “I suppose I do take trolleys to the theatre there sometimes.”
    Silence stretched between them and Dermot wondered how they would ever end the date. But then Celia made a noise. “Now that was quite funny.” Dermot realised that the noise had been a giggle. “Not very funny. But quite funny.”
    She gave a groan of frustration. “I just want someone to be with. Is that too much to ask?” Dermot didn’t know what to say. “We could start by being honest with each other. I’m 34 years old, terrible at relationships and really ratty at times, especially when I’m having my period.”
    The idea of being honest with someone surprised Dermot. How simple it made life seem. “I’ve never had a girlfriend,” he said quietly. “I sweat terribly and have lots of wind.”
    After a moment, she put a hand gently on his arm. “There you go. We’re made for each other.”

  2. crsmith2016 says:

    @carolrosalind

    WC 344

    Hungry Shadows

    “Sorry! Can you run that by me again?”

    “I told you, Officer, he only stopped to do up his shoelaces. I was worried about missing the 4.39 but he couldn’t wait ’til we boarded. I keep…kept…telling him to double knot ’em but he…”

    “Yes, yes, Madam, just talk me through it again—slowly this time. Step by step.”

    “I… Look, all he did was sit on the wall… it came out of nowhere.”

    “What did, the shadow?”

    “Yeah, I couldn’t see why he was shouting at first. I thought he was mucking me about. It annoyed me. There’s an hour between trains. I thought we were going to miss ours. Then I moved closer. The shadow was attacking him. There was nothing left… h…his feet were gone.”

    “How do you mean, gone?”

    “You know… gone…nothing… zilch. His feet were gone. He couldn’t stand up. His legs just ended. Blood was pouring out everywhere. He begged me to get help. I didn’t want to leave him but there was no one around. I got as far as the ticket hall before I found s…someone…”

    “Take your time”

    “When we got back, he was screaming. I heard him before we turned the corner. The shadow was all over him. The man with me ran over to help. The shadow got him too. I think I was screaming as well by then. I didn’t know what to do. Help them or get more help. Then they sort of exploded in front of me. That’s when you arrived.”

    “Right. Give me a minute to call it in. Did the shadow have any distinctive features?”

    “I didn’t get that good a look. It moved too quickly.”

    “So, you wouldn’t be able to pick it out in a line up?”

    “I doubt it. One shadow looks pretty much like the next one to me.”

    “OK! Wait over there. I’ll get a car to take you to the station.”

    The woman did as the officer asked. When he turned away a shadow fell across her legs.

    • ewansmithxxx says:

      No – don’t stop there! Hang on a mo, is that a shad… ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

    • This is great but like Ewan I’m saying whoa tell me more!! Pure Horror!

    • Voima Oy says:

      The creeping horror of the shadows, the ordinary conversation–beautifully done!

    • The shadow made me shudder. Right scary. I might skip the cheese too.

  3. @stellakateT
    336 words

    The Calling

    This was the second time I’d come out for a fag and he was still sitting there. Was he alright? Did I really care? No! But I’d been following this Good Intentions Guide on Twitter. You know 140 characters and they give you purpose to continue living. I needed a daily jolt working in this dump and going home to Edwin every day. God he was the one that depressed me. No ambition! No intellectual conversation just plain boring! I was half way through a beautician’s course when I met him at the Locarno. We girls went every week jiving together to the local bands. Edwin came between me and Josie, I was sure he wanted to dance with her but no he chose me. God! You played a trick on me that night! I must have been under a spell or something. Jacked in the course moved in with him and started working here, his uncle’s factory, on minimum wage. Stitching felt bits together! On Twitter I tell everyone I’m a felt textile designer. Doesn’t everyone bolster themselves up a little? My friend Nina calls herself a waste disposal expert. She cleans down at The Horse and Jockey and she tells me what goes down their lavatories is amazing.

    Today’s 140 characters was on about the power of smiling. So here I am smiling, trying to be enigmatic and attractive at the same time. Not sure what enigmatic means but I’m supposed to use new words each day to expand my vocabulary. Big vocabulary means bigger intelligence. Do you need to know what they mean?
    The moment I decided to ask him if he was alright he got up and turned to face me. Big bloke wearing a too small T-shirt with some inappropriate saying emblazoned on his chest about great beards bring great responsibilities for a moment I thought he could be Christ. I crossed myself for thinking improper thoughts.

    He smiled and said in the sweetest voice “Follow me Maggie” and I did.

    • crsmith2016 says:

      I love your writing, Stella. It makes me smile. There’s always that underlying humour. This is great, ‘Stitching felt bits together! On Twitter I tell everyone I’m a felt textile designer,’ and so true!

    • Voima Oy says:

      I love your take on things–yes, the felt designer is really good–my fave line is –for a moment I thought he could be Christ…I can’t explain this effect, humor, sadness, but it’s great stuff.

    • ewansmithxxx says:

      The narrator came across as so natural and real. Great last line. I like stories which draw you in and then leave you with a great big future for your imagination to work on.

    • New beginning. Good luck, Maggie. Guess Edwin felt stitched.

  4. Because The Night
    by Steve Lodge
    @steveweave71
    59 words

    “Darling,” said Paul looking downwards. “Do you think I should start wearing a bra in bed at night?”

    Philippa snorted. Self-centred git, she thought. I’ve been power-posing like this for 5 minutes. He hasn’t noticed how incredibly cute I still am or that my flies are undone.

    “Darling,” said Paul, still looking downwards. “My toenails seem to be missing.”

    • Voima Oy says:

      So much in so few words. I love the phrase “power posing” too. Great characters!

    • ewansmithxxx says:

      Top title, Steve!

      I don’t know what you would call such a tiny bit of writing but it’s really intriguing – and every word punching above its weight.

      • Thank you, Ewan. I spend a lot of time gag writing for a comedian and a double act out here. When I saw the prompt, I just had to have a pot at it. I suppose it could be called a skit.

Leave a Reply

