Round 118: Winners

Posted: December 6, 2016 in Winners
Tags: , , , , ,

Happy Tuesday, Friends! Thanks to everyone who came out to write this past weekend, and thanks also to Brady Koch for volunteering to judge and for offering a copy of his new book as a bonus prize. You’ll find Brady’s comments and top picks below.

First of all thanks to Rebecca for inviting me to judge and for bringing Angry Hourglass back. With our lives and environments in a constant flux, it’s helpful to have respite on the weekends for a little creative release.

We had some great reads this week. 2 dystopias, 2 dog encounters, 2 visits from beyond the grave, and 2 instances of tree lights brightening the human experience.  It’s amazing what a simple photo prompt can evoke. I was curious to see what kinds of themes can come from this prompt so I made this word cloud to analyze. Interesting to see what we’re all thinking about.

Some quick reflections on this week’s entries:

The Life App by Angelique Pacheco – I can relate to this one with my phone constantly affixed to my palm.

The Dog Did It by Alva Holland – This seems like something I would do . . . or have done. Post-election campaign signs and holiday decorations are both in the same category for me: you have two days after the event to take them down.

Knowing by @el_Stevie – Always a fan of fitting a dystopia into flash. Really like thinking about the relevancy of these newspaper boxes in a future society.

To Grant A Wish by @carolrosalind – Great concept of using the tree as the character. Made me think of the other events a city tree would witness over its lifespan.

In Memoriam by @geofflepard – The holiday lights as memorial won me over. The fact that each bulb has meaning was just great to no end.

News of the World by @AvLaidlaw – I like portrayals of wrong-headed revolts. Feels immediately relevant.

My Poinsettia Love by Nicola Tapson – Poinsettias always struck me as a sad plant. Maybe it’s the white blood, maybe it’s that no matter what efforts I make, I can’t get them to live past January. I’ve heard the post death delivery of flowers over years, but this is the first time I can think of where the dead loved one is hinting about foul play.

Untimely by Jeff Rowlands – Grim Reaper is a busy guy. He has to run late some times as Jeff Rowlands effectively points out. Great concept of reading your own obituary.

1st Runner Up: To Grant A Wish by @carolrosalind – fresh POV for a lead character.

 

And our Round 118 FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

Geoff Le Pard

With

In Memoriam

Simple and honest story of coping with grief years later.

Congratulations, Geoff! Your story will be featured as Wednesday’s HumpDay Quickie! If you wish to collect your book, please send me your mailing address through the contact tab and I’ll forward it to Brady. Next weekend, A.J. Walker is back as acting judge. Hope to see you all there.

Leave a Reply

