Flash Frenzy Round 116

Posted: November 19, 2016 in Flash Frenzy Weekend Flash Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

Hello again! Welcome back to Flash Frenzy! Your Round 116 judge is Steph Ellis.

Before we get started, here’s a brief reminder of the rules.

Deadline: Sunday at 6:00pm MST. You all have 36 hours to create your best work of up to 360 words (exclusive of title) and post it into the comments below. Please include your word count (required) and Twitter handle if applicable. For complete rules, click here. 

The winning author and their story will be featured as Wednesday’s Hump-Day Quickie and be crowned Flash Master of the Week.

Here is your prompt.

13619933_895160090610829_6097455851935517981_n

photo courtesy Ashwin Rao

Comments
  1. Steve Lodge
    226 words
    @steveweave71

    Is This The End?

    The Fabulous Flying Wheel stands majestically, but inert and quite devoid of any movement. The fairground is deserted, not a living soul. The people that could have fled. The ones that remain look untouched, unharmed and yet very, very dead. Some are staring. What was the last thing they saw? There is no sign on their faces of shock or horror, they look so placid, so accepting, so resigned to what was happening to them and those around them.

    Then the cabins of The Fabulous Flying Wheel squeak eerily as the wind catches them. Then a screen door on the operator’s cabin below slams shut on its one hinge. The wind starts to blow clumps of sagebrush down the deserted main street leading from the fairground into the suburban sprawl that is the town of Loose Stools.

    That interminable noise of flies above a cadaver picks up from somewhere off the road. Apart from these isolated noises, the air is clear, no day-to-day signs, sights or sounds. No dogs barking. No children shouting, no cars, nothing to suggest Loose Stools is a thriving community. No 5 pm siren announcing a shift change at Kemine Industries factory. The sea is sedate, the tide far out. This is the end. It’s all over.

    Now…back to the studio, to Tara with the Weather Report and a traffic update. Tara.

  2. A V Laidlaw says:

    @AvLaidlaw
    289 Words

    The Big Wheel

    We rode the Big Wheel that summer.

    Beneath us the people flowed in streams of colour through the fair from the hog-dog stands to the fortune-tellers, all their thoughts and worries so distant and small. She squeezed into the corner of the car and looked out of the window. I put my hand lightly over hers, my fingers between her fingers and my thumb pressed against her skin.

    “We can,” I said.

    “It’s easy for you,” she said.

    “Let’s,” I said.

    She leaned against my shoulder. We kissed. I felt the dizzying sensation that our bodies were not separate and individual but belonged to something bigger and to each other. In the distance I could see the beach where we had swum together on the first afternoon of the holidays and the sea stretching out towards the horizon.

    The wheel turned.

    She told me that she was pregnant.

    The wheel turned.

    In the distance I could see the beach where we had swum together on the first afternoon of the holidays and the sea stretching out towards the horizon. I felt the dizzying sensation that our bodies were not separate and individual but belonged to something bigger and to each other. We kissed. She leaned against my shoulder.

    “Let’s,” I said.

    “It’s easy for you,” she said.

    “We can,” I said.

    I put my hand lightly over hers, my fingers between her fingers and my thumb pressed against her skin. She squeezed into the corner of the car and looked out of the window. Beneath us the people flowed in streams of colour through the fair from the hog-dog stands to the fortune-tellers, all their thoughts and worries so distant and small.

    We rode the Big Wheel that summer.

  3. Richard Edenfield says:

    Steel Flower
    _____________

    My mind turns with pockets of sunrise memories. The day marked with moments reaching for the sky, then dissipating into a suns notice. Sometimes, I can feel the wind in my hair. Can see forever. Don’t feel like I am just sitting here, swaying gently like some leaf that is about to separate itself from home. Just an idea to someone. A vague notion. Something held in a photograph while it’s still in the camera. And there is laughter in the distance. Screams. From here, it is hard to tell the difference.

    ___________

    (92 words)

  4. Voima Oy says:

    Wheels within Wheels
    @voimaoy
    330 words

    He called himself Snake, after Snake Plissken in that movie, “Escape from New York.”

    It was Joe’s favorite movie, and even if he didn’t have an eyepatch, he liked the attitude. Like Snake, Joe had a problem with authority.

    He was working as a janitor now, with Roberto and Shiro–the three amigos Roberto called them. They had the building pretty much to themselves at night, except for Ben who worked the security desk. How Ben got security clearance after prison was a mystery to Snake, but Ben was one of them, too.

    They were hanging around Ben’s desk, admiring his new tattoo. The black and white yin-yang symbol stood out against his dark skin. “Change is all there is,’ Ben said. “The dance of darkness and light.”

    It looked like a turning wheel to Snake. He wanted to get a Celtic wheel of the year. Roberto had Quetzalcoatl, the plumed serpent, around his forearm. Shiro had a Buddhist wheel of life–a snake, a pig and a bird–the three creatures that moved the world.

    Wheels within wheels, moving.

    Snake remembered going to the carnival with his dad when he was a boy, the crowded midway, and the kids tossing rings to win stuffed toys. It was his birthday, and his dad bought him cotton candy and took him on the ferris wheel. They watched the houses and trees grow smaller as the wheel turned and they climbed higher in the cloudless blue sky. He was dizzy and afraid to look down, but his dad pointed out–“look, you can see our house from here!”

    The wheel paused at the pinnacle and for a moment it seemed to Snake the future was there, so close he could reach out and touch it. Then, the wheel turned and they came down again, closer and closer to the familiar ground.

    The man who worked the ferris wheel had a tattoo of a rattlesnake. “live free or die” the motto read.

  5. Angelique Pacheco says:

    Word Count: 360

    Gone

    “The fe-he-ris wheel goes up and down, up and down, up and down, the fe-he-ris wheel goes up and down, ALL DAY LONG!” I heard this song all day yesterday and it was no longer an ear worm but an ear anaconda. My baby sister, who was now four, was the most annoying person in the whole wide world. With blonde hair and blue eyes she was the apple of everyone’s eye but mine. She was more like a pip in mine… a pip squeak. I laughed. My mother had promised to take her to the fair today so she could ride on the Ferris wheel. Borriing! I wanted to go get the computer game that my friends were raving about and now I was stuck going to the fair. I hoped no one I knew would see me. Emily walked in and twirled her dress. “Am I a princess, Cody?” she asked her blue eyes pleading for my approval. “Sure. Whatever.” I grunted, barely acknowledging her. She beamed as though I had given her the world.

    When we arrived at the fair Emily was bouncing off the seats, she was so excited. She yanked at my sleeve. “Come Cody!” I followed her closely as she made her way to the Ferris wheel and I bought her tickets. My mother had said to make sure she went twice and I was to go with her. No way! I gave the ticket guy both tickets and pointed her out. She was sitting next to an older lady so I knew she’d be okay.

    I watched her for a bit and decided to go see a stall of video games I had spied when I came in. I would be back before the second round was done. I had a quick check but was disappointed at the meager selection and went to wait for Emily. The Ferris wheel was just coming to a stop and people were getting off. No Emily. Heart beginning to pound, I went to the ticket keeper and asked about her. The young lady got off with her mother after one round. The blood in my veins froze.

  6. @stellakateT

    Full Moon Rising
    283 words

    I opened my mouth wide but a growl, low and menacing silenced my scream to a muffled sob. A hairy hand clamped over my face. I wanted to gag on the primeval stench but feared choking on my own vomit. He eyed me hungrily, tongue rolling over his fat flabby lips, drool hanging from his half open mouth. How had this happened? One minute I was sitting in the pod on the Big Wheel laughing with Jason and now it was me and a thing. Werewolf came to mind. I could see the pod below. A girl was gripping on to the door as it swung wildly open. She was trying to save herself then a foot catapulted her through the air and she crashed to the ground. I was too high up to hear the thud or see if she had survived. My heart was beating so fast that I thought I would die of internal intensity. Jason-slash-Werewolf was holding me so tight to his breast that I feared suffocation too. This wasn’t the best day of my life and I prayed it wouldn’t be the last.

    Years later I watch Jason playing with the grand-kids.They play fight like a litter of puppies. No one but me knows what courses through his veins and no one queries on the eve of a full moon when he disappears alongside his six brothers. It’s a well kept secret. I hide the claw marks on my body and the teeth marks on my neck. I watched each child at birth for signs and smothered the hairy ones and the one born with a tooth. I pray the blood will be diluted before I die.

Leave a Reply

