Hump Day Quickie #92

Posted: February 3, 2016 in Hump-Day Quickies
Tags: , , , ,

Dead All Day
by Voima Oy

Johnny O’Neill was dead, again. Yes, quite dead and cold. My bullet in his heart. Belle, the barmaid, holding him and crying. Lucas, my deputy, and a few strong men carried him out to the graveyard. We buried him up there, high on Boot Hill, under the tree where the buzzards flapped their long black wings.

I said a few words, “Rest in Peace, Johnny.” It was my turn to comfort Belle now. I held her as we laid him in the ground.

He would stay there until the sun went down. Then, when the day turned into evening, and music started in the Lone Tree Saloon, he would come down again for a drink. He’d take in the silent stares and stroll up to the bar, order a whisky neat.

Belle would laugh at the sight of him. “Johnny, I can’t believe you’re back.”

He’d give her a kiss, alive again. “I promised you, didn’t I?” He’d wink and nod in my direction. Drinks would flow all night, and the mariachi music would play. Johnny and Belle would dance and laugh together. Then, at the stroke of midnight, they would make their way upstairs.

Every morning it was the same. I’d be sitting in the office, having coffee, when Lucas would rush in. “Johnny’s looking for you, Matt.” and out I’d go. Johnny would be waiting, watching the sun come up regular as clockwork. Belle would be begging him not to go, and he would promise he’d come back.

Then he’d look me square in the eye. “Ready, Sheriff?”

Hell of a way to start the day. “Ready if you are, Johnny.”

Why does it always end this way? Johnny O’Neill was dead again.

Leave a Reply

