Flash Frenzy Round 87

Posted: December 5, 2015 in Flash Frenzy Weekend Flash Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Welcome back! This weekend Jaime Burchard is back to serve as our story judge.

Before we get started, here’s a brief reminder of the rules.

Deadline: Sunday at 6:00pm MST. You all have 36 hours to create your best work of up to 360 words (exclusive of title) and post it into the comments below. Please include your word count (required) and Twitter handle if applicable. For complete rules, click here. 

The winning author and their story will be featured as Wednesday’s Hump-Day Quickie, receive a winner’s page, and be crowned Flash Master of the Week.

Here is your prompt.

photo courtesy Ashwin Rao

photo courtesy Ashwin Rao

Comments
  1. The Neutron Bomb Experiment

    Jim stopped flipping burgers, turned down Eddie Cochran’s ‘Summertime Blues’ on his transistor radio and said, Hey guys, look up at the sky, you’d swear that’s a

    @bartvangoethem
    28 words
    (again, not a lot of time this weekend, sorry folks. But it seems like competitions are disappearing fast lately, so I try to submit when I get the chance to.)

  2. stephellis2013 says:

    Family Gathering

    357 words

    @el_Stevie
    #FlashDog

    Through my shuttered windows I can see the family arriving, all bringing old bones and even older memories with them to break the sunny tranquillity of my mind. I stir myself reluctantly but the ache in my joints prevent further movement. It is no matter. Mary will let them in. I have already prepared my daughter, given her instructions.

    I turn my face to the sun again, enjoy the feel of its warmth on my face, allow its heat to dissolve the cobwebs that have clouded so many of my thoughts these days.

    My eyes follow the reunion with interest. Great-aunt Emma has shrouded herself in a thick shawl despite the clemency of the weather and taken up her usual position on the wicker chair commanding a view of the whole street. She had sat there for as long as I can remember, occasionally admonishing myself or one of my numerous cousins as we charged about the garden. They are out there, playing now. Simon is looking up at my window and waving to me. He wants me to come and play. And I will soon. It’s been a long time.

    Granddad Stephen is delivering yet another lecture nobody listens to whilst my father pours a drink to numb himself against Granddad’s poisonous diatribe. Mother is hiding in the background like she always does when Father starts drinking.

    Their voices are clearer now, floating up through cherry blossom air. Closer by, I hear someone speaking outside my door.

    “It won’t be long, Mary.”

    Doctor Jefferson. He seems to have been around here a lot lately. The door creaks but I keep my eyes on the garden.

    “Dad.”

    Mary, she seems distant, her voice faint. I can feel her touch and I grip her hand tightly. I don’t want to leave her behind.

    The sun is rising higher now, Simon has become more insistent and I can resist no longer. I let go of Mary’s hand and leap out of bed, my muscles free from the pain that had claimed them for so long.

    I run and laugh and jump for joy. I do not hear Mary cry.

  3. denmaniacs4 says:

    The New Neighbours

    There are the usual comings and goings on our street, in our town. Lives are lived with a meandering pace, occasionally revved up by spontaneous spurts of aggressive ambition and the inevitable retraction back to earth.

    The house across the street had been empty for the requisite two months after Clegg and Connie Conniption had moved away. They had been excellent neighbors. Their two kids, Maybelline and Junior, had been active teens and though they resisted the loss of friends and the community in which they had been raised, they finally accepted that the move to Seattle would broaden their world.

    The Move Adjustment League, a totally voluntary service, has had much practice in easing transitional hiccups. Maybelline and Junior had tested the resolve of the M.A.L but, in the end, the Conniption kids, as expected, acknowledged the inevitable.

    I was thinking about the Conniptions as I stared out across the way at the family who had bought Clegg and Connie’s house.

    Ward and June Chopper had brought an exciting new dynamic to our street, to our town.

    “Honey,” I said, calling Petal in from the kitchen. “We ought to have the Chopper’s over soon. Give them a real downhome welcome.”

    Petal has always had a welcoming and generous nature.

    “Here, darling,” she joined me at the picture window and handed me our favourite 5:00 pm summer libation, a variation on Colonel Joe’s famous Gin Rickey.

    I wrapped my fingers around the chilled eight ounce glass, lifted it to my warm lips, sipped just a smidgen, and said, “Baby, that hits the spot.”

    “I know,” she cooed.

    We exchanged smiles. I lightly touched her waist and drew her closer to me.

    “So, what sort of party were you thinking about,” she asked.

    “Hmm. You can see for yourself that the Choppers are reasonably unconventional.”

    “I do. I love what they have done with the yard. Clegg and Connie lacked…what would you say?”

    “Theatricality?” I suggested.

    “The very word. The Choppers have raised the bar…on this block at any rate.”

    “Well, whatever we do, it’ll have to be garish enough to raise the dead.”

    “It will indeed, snookum’s. It will indeed.”

    360 welcoming moments
    @billmelaterplea

  4. Sonya says:

    Pattie Wants to Meet the Parents

    ‘Is this your idea of a joke?’

    Pattie lets go of his hand. The flowers she brought for his mother land on the ground with a soft thud.

    ‘I told you they’re a bit different,’ he says. ‘Once you get to know them, they’re not bad at all.’

    But they make the getting to know them part tricky. It wasn’t his idea for Pattie to meet his parents – she insisted or she would leave him.

    Trouble is, he likes her. A lot. How else will she believe him the reason he doesn’t want her to meet his parents isn’t her?

    100 words
    @_supersonya

  5. Voima Oy says:

    Dead Kids Dancing
    @voimaoy
    55 words

    It was beginning to look like the the end of the world, so Janis and Jimi and Kurt and Amy got the band back together to play. A farewell tour, they said.

    And after all, it was hard to get a gig in rock n roll heaven. Dead or alive, Elvis was still the King.

  6. @firdausp
    (96 words)
    ‘Life cycle’

    The wave was lethal they said. It reached us last. The air felt as thick as water.
    “I don’t feel too good,” said my brother as he tuned his guitar.
    “Me neither,” I replied even as I saw his skin melt off.
    Was this the end of the world? I tried to say something but my lips dropped off. Words floated away, thick and fast. I saw screams and gasps in bunches as I found myself go rigid.
    Time froze and the earth stood still.
    Then the sun rose and what remained started to grow again.

    I know my entry is late but I was on the road and my network was bad so couldn’t post.

Leave a Reply

