Happy Tuesday! I’m typing this as quickly as I can to bring you winners before I get called off to another procedure. Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who volunteers their time for judging. Without you, there would be no Flash Frenzy. This past weekend, Brian Creek stepped up and here is what he had to say:

I’ve just come back from a nice, long weekend with my family on the Isle of Wight, and the last thing I want to do is think about going back to work tomorrow. So what better to occupy me on this miserable, cloudy day at home than judging the fantastic stories over at the Hourglass?

I’ll be honest now and say that I would have struggled with the prompt this week so big pat on the back to everyone who laughed in the face of the teacup and said, “Hey! I’ve got an idea.”

Shall we begin?

________________________________________

HONOURABLE MENTIONS

Most Meta Award

Saturday Conversation’ – Geoff Holme

Is this Geoff’s actual idea from the prompt or, as the story states, just his way of dealing with the lack of an idea? Who cares when the dialogue is this funny? Loved how it meandered, much like the mind can, from the photo to the photographer to a devious plot for Flash Fiction domination.

Less Is More Award

‘Summer Quest’ – Caitlin Gramley

Catlin played with the format and only used one third of the allowed word count but it all works brilliantly. My favourite thing was the outside-the-box take on the prompt, using the cup to represent the carnival ride.

________________________________________

3rd PLACE

‘Tea Time’ – Brady Koch

Some of my favourite pieces of Flash Fiction are the ones that frustrate me for the first half before something is revealed that makes everything click. ‘Tea Time’ did just that as I lost track of characters and thought the piece had a certain lack of edit. And then, when it’s revealed exactly what our character is up to, the reread was vastly improved. A what a dark, twisted story it is too.

________________________________________

2nd PLACE

‘Tea, Robots, And Biscuits’ – Sal Page

This piece had sci-fi lightly dripped throughout with things like SkyTrains, UtiliMugs, and LifeTab, but nothing ever needed explaining, nothing took you out of the story. And what a beautiful story it is, a moment between distant generations and how, despite advances in technology, some things still remain the same (I’m a three biscuit man myself).

________________________________________

And our Round 69 FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

AV Laidlaw

with

‘Bluebird’

 

This story screams bigger universe, an alternate history where magic was used to win World War 2.

The story is built at a nice pace, with details dropped in every few steps. There’s sadness to the character of Majestik; once powerful, but now reduced to performing parlour tricks at kids parties, all the while trying to stay off the governments radar. But he’s still sharp, spotting the agent sent to watch him with ease, and perhaps treating the interruption as a sort of game. A sort of Harry Potter meets gentleman spy.

And who wouldn’t like to see the mighty Majestik take on the German tanks in North Africa? In 355 words, this story makes me want to see the bigger world, the bigger history, and find out more about a potentially great character.

Congratulations, AV! Your story will be featured as Wednesday’s HumpDay Quickie! Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Next weekend, David Shakes returns to the judge’s seat. Hope to see you all there.

Comments
  1. Geoff Holme says:

    Thanks very much, Brian, for the Most Meta Award: very much appreciated and unexpected.

    It was very much my way of dealing with the lack of an idea, and a small paean of praise to everyone else who came up with the goods… again!

    Now, if someone can just explain to me what ‘meta’ means…

    • Geoff Holme says:

      It’s OK. I read a lot of stuff that had been written about the meaning of meta and now you’re reading the stuff I’m writing about the meaning of…

      I think I need to lie down for a while…

  2. Thanks all. Frustration is a key strength of mine!

Leave a Reply

