Round 55: Winners

Posted: February 17, 2015 in Winners
Tags: , , , , ,

Hello and happy Tuesday. For those of you in the states, I hope you had a lovely President’s Day Weekend, for those of you not from the states, I hope you had a lovely weekend. 🙂 I was pleased to see some more experimental (to me, anyway) fiction in the subs this week—Vagrant Rhodia, Josh Bertetta, I’m looking your way. Love that you guys are keeping me on my toes. Voima and Amy, your stories were lyrical and stunning as always. I enjoyed the variety of themes ranging from revenge (mrmacrum), to new love (Foy), to undying love (Catherine). You guys are amazing.

Runners Up:

Lost in Translation – Josh Bertetta: I loved reading this. The language was engaging, the energy was palpable. I felt like I was in some alternate universe. I’d love to read more about it. If done right (and I think you can do it right), a story with this kind of hip lingo could really go places.

Babes in the Wood – Mark A. King: I absolutely love, love, love the concept behind this piece. I want a whole book filled with the stories of the children who never lived! I want to know if the same children get to live this one night year after year, or if it is reserved for only the children who hadn’t lived since the previous equinox. Do they truly have just one night? Do they know? Do they wait for it, planning? Mark, make this happen for me, I’m begging you.

 

And your Round 55 FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

F.E. Clark

with

Inheriting the Mask

I really loved the exchange here. I enjoyed how the initial feeling was that of rivals and then evolved into a sweet case of impersonation and tutelage. My favorite line: “A nana is a fruit, and a rather phallic one at that.” Well done.

Congratulations, F.E.! Your story will be featured as Wednesday’s HumpDay Quickie! Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Next weekend, Mark A. King will be stepping into the judge’s seat. Hope to see you all there.

Leave a Reply

