Round 53: Winners

Posted: February 3, 2015 in Winners
Tags: , , , , , ,

I thought the basketball hoop prompt might be a bit premature, considering it’s only February, but it’s been in the 50’s all week, and the forecast calls for 60’s by the end of the week. It seems winter isn’t coming to my neck of the woods, regardless of what that rodent in Punxsutawney has to say. So it was game on, flash dogs and you all delivered. Slam dunks from you all. Now it’s time to reveal our winners! Bart Van Goethem was our guest judge you’ll find his comments below.

(While whistling the Harlem Globetrotters tune)

A close-up of a basketball rim. That turned out deceptively simple, didn’t it? So thank you for all the entries. I, again, judged the idea and the tone. Catherine Connolly (strong character, but not basketball) and necwrites (good tone and structure, but I just had to think a little too hard to figure it out) were in my short list, but didn’t make it.

Second runner-up: ‘Tag’ by Jaime Burchardt. Nice idea, and I especially like the story changing in mid action, as the player is hanging in the air. This is just so easy to picture, so it sticks.

First runner-up: ‘That’s What Friends Are For’ by Carlos. You’re going to say I am a sucker for dark tales and you’re right. But this one has a clear voice, coming from a spooky point of view.

 

And our Round 53 FLASH MASTER is

 FLASH MASTER

drmagoo with ‘Untitled’

I was halfway reading the first sentence when my mind was still considering to disqualify this story. Because stories need a title. They just do. But anyway, I kept reading and I fell for the voice of the main character. Also, I love free life lessons like ‘Ain’t about coward or brave, Tevin. About smart.’ The nostalgia and the science fiction take this story a step or two further than the others. I’m going to let that missing title slip. Ain’t about sticking to the rules too much, right? About emotion.

Congratulations, drmagoo! Your story will be featured as Wednesday’s HumpDay Quickie! Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Many thanks writers, and many thanks Bart for your comments. Next weekend, Brian Creek will be stepping up to try his hand at judging. Hope to see you all there.

Leave a Reply

