Round 51: Winners

Posted: January 20, 2015 in Winners
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hey Friends –

I know this post is late, and so it will be short, sweet, and to the point. I apologize and promise I will do a better job next time. The stories were all a pleasure to read, but fortunately for my weary mind, there were three that stood out from the pack. So while it was moderately easy (it’s never easy) to narrow it down to the top three, trying to choose my favorite was still a challenge. In the end, I actually had to call in a second reader to help me make my final decision. You guys are too good for me to separate minute degrees of awesomeness.

RUNNERS UP:

BLOOD FROM THE START : DAVID SHAKES – I really enjoyed this little vampire tale. Subtle. Effective. I liked the symbolism of the subways and the repetition of blood. And is there anything worse than being bored? Well done.

SILHOUETTE : JACKI DONNELLAN – My mother was a silhouette. Beautiful and terrible at the same time. Every line of this story was heartbreaking. Even as I read it and uncovered the the truth about the man your narrator grew up to be, I couldn’t forget that haunting image of a little boy and his crayon dreams trying to infuse color into a absent love.

And the Flash Frenzy Round 51 FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

BRIAN S. CREEK

with THE CLIMB

This story made me queasy. I could feel your narrator’s shame and loathing and loneliness… and her rage. I loved the countdown and the mounting tension as she mounted the stairs. And that last line? Perfection.

Congratulations, Brian. Your story will be featured as tomorrow’s HumpDay quickie. Angry Hourglass contributor Jaime Burchardt will be judging this weekend, hope to see you all there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

