It’s Tuesday, and you know what that means? That’s right! Winners!! And we have a brand new Flash Master to crown, so let’s cut to the chase.  Our judge this week was Jaime Burchard who, despite something of a crisis, refused to back away from his judging responsibilities. So, here’s a GREAT BIG THANK YOU you to Jaime from me and the rest of the #flashdogs here at The Angry Hourglass.

Here is what Jaime had to say:

All the stories had life to them, and you all did a fine job. I thank you all for writing such great pieces of work.

Special mentions go to Volma Oy (want to see more experiments), Josh Bertetta, and David Borrowdale.

2nd Runner-Up: “Untitled” by Marie McKay
I loved that it was the kind of story that builds and builds and once we’re at the end, it’s something almost out of nowhere but in a pleasant sense. One of the big things that I look for are stories that can paint a picture, and this one painted something pretty nifty while using half the words that the others did. I can’t wait to read more from Ms. MaKay.

1st Runner-Up: “Martin’s Best Day Ever” by Karl A. Russell
There will always be something about Karl’s writing that provides a pitch perfect definition of the wind-and-pitch feel. The pace and the words chosen to build up Martin’s “worst day” was instantly appealing; the winding of the events making me smile word by word, until BAM—the pitch with a worthy enough ending. All of that topped off with a final sentence that sticks to you like glue.

And your Round 41 FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

Bart Van Goethem

with “Here’s to the Independent”

Bart, you wonderful bastard. This was the only story I read multiple times while passing through…and passing through again. I read them all at least twice, but this one had me coming back more and more. This whole time I could hear the voice of this angry Englishman with something to prove. Really, the voice was still in my head long after I was done. Not only that;  the flow of this was outstanding, and I could feel the energy behind the words. Some damn fine work, Bart. Damn fine.

Congratulations, Bart!  Your story will be featured tomorrow as the HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Next week, I will be issuing a special challenge to all you #flashdogs out there and choosing the winner myself. Hope to see you this weekend.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

