Round 37: Winners

Posted: September 30, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s that time again—time to crown this week’s Flash Master—but before we get to the coronation, a few words.

You guys are awesome.

Seriously.

I don’t know what else to say. I’m humbled that you return week after week to contribute your talents and make my tiny speck of the internet such an engaging and encouraging place.

So… Thanks. 🙂

Okay, that was more than a few words…

And now! On to this week’s top picks, brought to you by Karl A. Russell!

Well, what a phenomenal selection of tales this week! I think 29 tales is a site record, and I was pleased to see a number of new faces in the crowd this week, but I’m afraid that you have finally broken me and I’m not going to be able to give you all individual comments. However, the many comments from our fine flash friends should go some way to making up for that, especially as they have a much better idea of what they’re talking about than I do…

But what tales they were! We had stairways to Heaven, Hell and all points in-between. People climbed them, fell down them and almost got launched off them, and then there were the horrifying things which lurk beneath them.

And now we need our own set of rickety steps for three winners to ascend to this week’s podium.

First up is a name new to me, David Borrowdale, taking Second Runner Up with “Lesson Learned?” The description of the rot at the heart of a once great lineage is masterful, sketching in details that somehow resolved into a picture perfect depiction of that hated study, and the realisation that the cycle of violence rolls on untrammelled makes this a chastening read.

In First Runner Up spot is a very familiar name to long time Hourglassers, Cath Connolly, with “Ursilla.” Cath excels at poetically rendered folk tales, and this is no exception. As Tam works at his strange task, the mystery deepens to a spellbinding conclusion, while at the same time feeling as familiar as the moon.

And in first place, this week’s Flash Master is…

FLASH MASTER

Jacki Donnellan

with “Getting Changed”

I read this on the train, and when I was done, I became very aware of how many people were sitting around me and how many might be looking my way as I blinked back tears of happy surprise. Some flash washes over the reader like poetry, some goes for the sucker punch or the twist ending, assaulting the senses. Getting Changed could have gone down any of those routes, but in giving us a moment of unexpected tenderness and that truly wonderful shout of thanks, Jacki gave us something far more affecting. And unlike a surprise ending, it works more than once – I’ve just read it again, 14 hours on, and I’m smiling through misty eyes again.

Congratulations, Jacki! Your story will be featured as tomorrow’s HumpDay Quickie!

I’m pleased to announce that this weekend’s guest judge is none other than flashionista and dragony hostess of Flash! Friday herself, Rebekah Postupak! Have a wonderful week, and I hope to see you all on Saturday! 🙂

Cheers!

Comments
  1. […] was awarded runner up for this! The judge […]

Leave a Reply

