HumpDay Quickie #35

Posted: September 17, 2014 in Hump-Day Quickies
Tags: , , ,

Alive, Alive, Oh

by Voima Oy

 

Here she comes again, my little mermaid, my pearl diver in her tight black suit.

She is the only one who comes out this far, far beyond the seabeds where the oysters sleep, forming their little moons. She is beyond beds, now, and that domestic routine. Oh my love, let me show you oblivion beyond your wildest Hokusai dreams. To me you are Botticelli on a half shell, you hair flowing like seaweed. I remember those days. Do you?

Of course, I can pick up what you’re thinking. I wish you could understand me. No screams of snails in a saucepan, I whisper between the stars. Can you get the picture? Look, the colors I flash just for you, for you! I am beautiful. How can you resist? Come closer. Let me hold you.

Still, you hesitate? I know you are intrigued. You dream of me, don’t you, I know. We’ve met there, before, did you know that? And you have heard me mentioned in the sailors’ songs, the stories they whisper in crowded bars. Yes, they know me, too.

You know me, yes you do. But we haven’t been properly introduced.

Let me tell you a little bit about myself. I’m way, way, older than you. I come from somewhere else. This place, this shape suits me, here. The dark, the pressure of gravity. The skeletons of fallen whales. This is what they call the Twilight Zone–where the light from your sun doesn’t reach. My eyes have seen many different suns. Look into my eyes and you’ll see.

Come out with me, beyond the seabeds, past all traps under this moon. Your little life is so limited, here, rounded as it is with sleep and death. I can feel the longing in you, the empty spaces yearning to be filled. Come out with me beyond the human. Let us be together, mind and mind.

Let me show you what it is to be alive, to swim in the bright fluid of electrons moving. To dance to the songs the quasars sing.

Come closer. Let me hold you. Your tears taste of blood and the sea.

Leave a Reply

