Round 22: Winners

Posted: June 2, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , ,

Hello again.

I’d like to throw a shout-out and a huge THANK YOU to everyone who has judged for The Angry Hourglass or any other writing challenge, because when you have submissions like the ones I had to read this week, it’s a damn tough gig. I felt like I was being forced to choose my favorite child (even tho I don’t have kids…) Okay, maybe that’s a bit melodramatic, but I struggled a lot. It was almost as hard as ranking my top programs when I was applying for residency. There was at least one thing I really liked about every single story, making it that much more difficult to narrow it down. But narrow it down I did—painful as it was—and I now present you with this week’s winners.

 

2nd Runner-up: Catherine Connolly: “Sampling Spirits”

I was really drawn in by Matt and Sam’s conversation, although I must admit I wondered if there was more going on than there initially appeared. Maybe it’s just my morbid mind. Maybe I’m reading into it more than I should be, but I can’t shake the idea that what these men are drinking isn’t actually alcohol. Likely I’m wrong, and I’m inserting my own distasteful fantasies into Catherine’s prose, but isn’t that part of the beauty of writing? The varied interpretations, right or wrong?  The images this conjured for me were delightful and somewhat ambiguous, and I found myself returning again and again.  Feel free to stick her down the sink.” After a few reads, I’m fairly convinced that pronoun doesn’t refer to a person…but what if it did?

 

1st Runner-up: David Shakes : “One For The Road”

Oh, man. I loved this one. A lot. I might print it and keep a copy as inspiration. The atmosphere was deliciously eerie, the juxtaposition of the narrator’s reluctant pleasure and well-earned pain was almost nauseating, and it has possibly one of the best closing lines I’ve ever read. I wish I’d written it.

 

this week’s FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

Voima Oy

“The Lady Grey”

First, I have to admit that, as a rule, I find 2nd person POV and present tense stories extremely irritating. But, as with many things in life, there are exceptions to the rule. This week, Vioma’s story led me down a dark street and onto the deck of a ghost ship. When aboard the Lady Grey, I was everything I ever wanted to be – charming, interesting, witty. The language was smooth and lilting, like a drifting vessel, gently carrying me from paragraph to paragraph. When I reached the end, I was almost hypnotized.  I wasn’t prepared to leave, and were I really aboard the Lady Grey, I’d never have to.

Congratulations, Vioma! Your story will be featured tomorrow as the HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Thank you to everybody who participated, you made my job extremely difficult! I’m shocked and pleased every week at the quality of work you are able to produce in such a limited time frame. I’m still recruiting judges for this month, so I’m not sure yet who will be sitting in the hot seat next week, but I’m sure they’ll suffer as much as I did this week. Check in this Saturday for another round of Flash Frenzy.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

