Round 15: Winners

Posted: April 15, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , , ,

Hi friends. Here we are again, with a new batch of winners, and a brand new FLASH MASTER that I’m really excited about. First, I just wanted to say that this photo is one of my favorites, and you all did it justice. Thanks!

Here is what TinMan had to say about this week’s entries.

Hi all, and congratulations on the many different and inventive ways in which you treated what I thought was a really challenging photo. I got my son to cut and paste all of the stories into Word, so that I had no idea whose story was which.


In the space of just ten stories the climbing frame was empty because of tragedy, Peter Pan, a child-kidnapper, a multiple-child-kidnapper, a zombie catastrophe and an invisibility gel, while the dog was a zombie-eater, a re-incarnation, a space-traveller, and stuffed.

There were lines like “I hated picking up her dumps, it looked as if I was carrying around a little chocolate cake for later” (Sal Page), and “he could smell the sticky sweetness of tiny human hands” (Beth Deitchman).

I must mention Sal Page and Stella, who, by writing in the first person, dragged me, slightly shuddering, into the minds of two really disturbed, disturbing characters.

My Runner-Up is Karl A. Russell, for “Full 360 and a Twist”, his tale of the young champion gymnast who hated his coach’s dog, ended up causing its death and was re-incarnated as a dog himself, staring up at rings he would never be able to reach again. I loved the line “you don’t fully understand the concept of dog years until you’re counting your own life in them” and the last two lines are terrific.

This week’s FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

DAVID SHAKES

with: Routine

The family – boy, dog, Mother and Father, have a daily, happy routine, but it emerges that something is wrong, that today the boy isn’t swinging from the pull-up chains as per usual. Just as the story starts to get worrying the dog checks the bench where the parents drink coffee, and they’re sat there as always. This calms the dog, and it calms the reader too, which is brilliant because it makes the ending even more heart-breaking.

Congratulations, David! Your story will be featured tomorrow as the HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Next week we’re going to try something new and exciting. I hope you’ll all join me. As always, thanks for making Flash Frenzy a success week after week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

