Round 14: Winners

Posted: April 8, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , ,

Happy Tuesday, Friends!

Thanks much for your patience. We had eleven great entries this week, including a bold 16 word entry from Bart Van Goethem, Jamie Burchard has chosen his top three from the mix. So, without further ado, let’s get this party started.

2nd Runner Up: Casey Rose FrankThe Writer’s Mill

From start to finish, this story had me smiling. The range of my smile just happened to change, drastically. Frank did a fantastic job of creating this build-up of pleasantry and then BAM. Literally. And I couldn’t stop laughing my ass off.

1st Runner Up:  Karl A RussellThe Watermill

To be honest, the beginning of this story had pulled in but I wasn’t quite sure how it was doing it. Russell’s words wove through and through, and then it built up to something so extraordinarily macabre, it became its own charming monster. I hated that it ended.

And this week’s FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

Beth Deitchman

Le Moulin

This is the first time I’ve read the works of Beth Deitchman, and now I’m hooked. It’s a flash story that felt like it came to life right before my eyes. Like the runner-ups, the last words grabbed me, but the combined touch of desperation and loveliness had me breathing heavily. Limited words, but this author just showed me that her potential is the opposite.

Congratulations, Beth! Your story will be featured tomorrow as the HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

That’s it for this week, folks. Next week we have another great photo prompt and two-time Flash Master TinMan acting as judge. Hope to see you all then!

Leave a Reply

