Round 10: Winners

Posted: March 11, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hello, friends! Once again we had an amazing group of stories. I’m continually amazed at the quality of writing you all produce on a weekly basis in such a short period of time. This week Jacki Donnellan was gracious enough to donate her time to judge your stories, and here is what she had to say.

What a privilege, a treat and a challenge to be asked to judge this week’s round of Flash Frenzy, and to have the “task” of reading and savouring the eight fantastic entries. Each story took the prompt in a completely different direction- there was introspection, revenge, romance, fantasy and even self-improvement! I really enjoyed reading them all. Every story contained at least one line, device or idea that I really loved.

Realizing now how hard it is to write judge’s comments without sounding clichéd and insincere (sorry if the former, but definitely NOT the latter!) I will swiftly move on:

HM-Karl Russell -“Tag” I was hooked from the very first paragraph of this story-what had he guessed?-and was certainly not prepared for the answer! I enjoyed the slow, almost tortuously engaging pace leading to the reveal, during which I even had time to chuckle at “she thinks she’s something special, with her paint pens from Amazon.”  Then we’re hit with the fantastic image of a tag “crawl(ing) around the lip of the concrete”, before the ominously clever final line. Great stuff.

Runner-up- Kristen Falso-Capaldi ”Last Tag” Reading this story was like unwrapping something layer by layer, convinced with each layer that I’d guessed what it was. “It’s about some kids about to spray a wall,” I thought. “Oh-wait.” Then, “So Ronnie’s just a ghost. Oh, wait…” What I eventually held in my hands was a brilliantly creative and imaginative way to tell the story of a young person’s struggle to leave their mark on the world; the story behind the legacy created by a tag.

And this week’s FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

Dr Magoo

Untitled

This was a massive amount of story told in just 358 words. I was drawn in immediately to the scene of an execution up against a wall in an oppressive regime, and then knocked immediately off my feet by that line at the end of the first paragraph, “forced to witness the decay of my only son in real time.”

What followed was a tight yet wonderfully prosaic description of the narrator’s world- of our world, where the killing of one individual means nothing, and yet means everything; of a world where walls come down but remain standing in our minds and where history stubbornly repeats itself.

And then finally, I found myself not looking at the world at large any more but at that one man, whose story was not universal after all, but deeply personal. I found myself standing and watching the tragic end of a quiet, private story, “the last digit in history’s book of casualties.”

Awesome.

Congratulations, drmagoo! Your story will be featured tomorrow as the HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Thanks again for participating. This weekend David Shakes will be returning to judge. Hope to see you there.
Leave a Reply

