Round 4: Winners

Posted: January 28, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Once again thank you to everybody who participated. I really enjoyed all of the entries, you all certainly didn’t make judging easy on me.

This week we have two runners up in addition to our champion, and I’ve got to tell you it was a struggle to decide which one I liked the best.

Runner Up: Karl A Russel – Heart of Stone. This story was difficult to read. It conveyed a profound level of discomfort without delving into unnecessary detail. Utilizing the 2nd person POV (as a rule my least favorite POV), Karl makes the reader feel personally responsible for a betrayal that heaps unjust insult to injury. Nicely done. Now, somebody give me a hug.

Runner Up: drmagoo – Untitled. This story struck a cord with me, primarily because I’m usually the one on the other side of the equation. It’s difficult as a doctor, to appreciate exactly what patients and their families are experiencing during a hospital stay. Recently my hospital announced they were planning to replace part of the campus with a new garden. Employees have been less than excited about this development because the space could be used for additional parking (its like MadMax trying to park your car if you don’t arrive before 8am). Now I’m reconsidering my bitterness. Maybe this new garden, like the one in drmagoo’s story, will be able to provide a kind of comfort and healing medicine can’t.

And finally, this week’s winner and FLASH MASTER  is:

FLASH MASTER

 Image Ronin

The Gardener

It’s no secret that I’m a sucker for stories with a dark slant, and The Gardener delivered. I wonder and worry about what happened to our narrator’s mother and sister, and why the gardening staff is so eager to accommodate his special needs.  I loved the vibrant description of the garden and the careless manner in which our narrator navigated to his special spot, but it was the very last line that sold me on The Gardener as this week’s winner.

Congratulations, Image Ronin! Your story will be featured tomorrow as the HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

For Round 5, David Shakes is back and will be judging stories based on another one of his fantastic photos. Hope to see you all there.

Comments
  1. Image Ronin says:

    Wow, many thanks Ladyhazmat and congrats all on some excellent stories.

Leave a Reply

