Round 1: Winners

Posted: January 7, 2014 in Winners
Tags: , , , ,

Thanks so much to everybody who participated in the inaugural Flash Frenzy weekend flash challenge. As with any flash challenge, it was great fun reading all the entries and seeing how different each of the stories were despite using the same prompt. I couldn’t be happier with the quality of work that was produced. Kudos to you all!

Here is what your judge had to say:

What can I say other than ‘wow’? 

Thanks to everyone who entered. I’ll feedback more on each story in the comments section as it was almost too close to call for some of you and it doesn’t feel right having runners up this week. You’re all brilliant, and it’s a subjective thing.

Looking forward to more from you all.

The inaugural ‘Flash Frenzy’ competition saw some fantastic entries & I’ve been stumped on a clear winner, but as the tag line goes: “Time is short…”

And our very first Flash Frenzy FLASH MASTER is…

FLASH MASTER

Karl A Russell

with the story: My Soda Keep

Something about the innocent quality of the little girl’s perceptions and the squalid reality around her struck a chord. You probably had me at “Loop Skywalker.” Heartbreaking tale. 

It captured the essence of what I felt when I took the photo most effectively in the end. Nothing in that picture was staged. A chance find. Scary eh?

Congratulations, Karl! Your story will be featured tomorrow as the very first HumpDay Quickie. Please contact me here with any bio information, publications, links to personal sites, or any other information you would like to appear on your winner’s page.

Again, thanks to everybody who participated last weekend, I hope to see you again this Saturday.

Comments
  1. David Shakes says:

    Well done to all entrants – I’ve posted the feedback on the competition page. Feel free to exchange further dialogue on twitter where I’m @theshakes72. I’m heading over there now to congratulate Karl directly!

Leave a Reply

